List of Governors of Odisha: A Comprehensive Overview

List of governors of Odisha provides an overview of the individuals who have served as heads of state of the Indian state of Odisha since its formation in 1936. The list includes the names of the governors, their terms of office, and brief biographies.

The governor of Odisha is the nominal head of the state, appointed by the president of India. The governor’s role is largely ceremonial, but they also have some important constitutional powers, such as appointing the chief minister and summoning and proroguing the state legislature.

The first governor of Odisha was Sir John Austen Hubback, who was appointed in 1936. The current governor is Raghubar Das, who was appointed in 2023.

Also Check: Indian States, Capitals, Chief Ministers, Governors.

List of governors of Odisha

Sl. NoNameTook officeLeft office
British India (Before 1947)
1Sir John Austen Hubback1 April 193611 August 1938
George Townsend Boag (acting)11 August 19387 December 1938
2Sir John Austen Hubback8 December 193831 March 1941
3Sir Hawthorne Lewis1 April 194131 March 1946
4Chandulal Madhavlal Trivedi1 April 194614 August 1947
Independent India (After 1947)
1Kailash Nath Katju15 August 194720 June 1948
2Asaf Ali21 June 19485 May 1951
V. P. Menon (acting)6 May 195117 July 1951
(2)Asaf Ali18 July 19516 June 1952
3Fazal Ali7 June 19529 February 1954
4P. S. Kumaraswamy Raja10 February 195411 September 1956
5Bhim Sen Sachar12 September 195631 July 1957
6Yeshwant Narayan Sukthankar31 July 195715 September 1962
7Ajudhia Nath Khosla16 September 19625 August 1966
Khaleel Ahmed (acting)5 August 196611 September 1966
(7)Ajudhia Nath Khosla12 September 196630 January 1968
8Shaukatullah Shah Ansari31 January 196820 September 1971
Sardar Yojendra Singh (acting)20 September 197130 June 1972
Gati Krushna Misra (acting)1 July 19728 November 1972
9Basappa Danappa Jatti8 November 197220 August 1974
Gati Krushna Misra (acting)21 August 197425 October 1974
10Akbar Ali Khan25 October 197417 April 1976
Shiva Narayan Shankar (acting)17 April 19767 February 1977
11Harcharan Singh Brar7 February 197722 September 1977
12Bhagwat Dayal Sharma23 September 197730 April 1980
13Cheppudira Muthana Poonacha30 April 198030 September 1980
S. K. Ray (acting)1 October 19803 November 1980
(13)Cheppudira Muthana Poonacha4 November 198024 June 1982
Ranganath Misra (acting)25 June 198231 August 1982
(13)Cheppudira Muthana Poonacha1 September 198217 August 1983
14Bishambhar Nath Pande17 August 198320 November 1988
15Saiyid Nurul Hasan20 November 19886 February 1990
16Yagya Dutt Sharma7 February 19901 February 1993
(15)Saiyid Nurul Hasan1 February 199331 May 1993
17B. Satya Narayan Reddy1 June 199317 June 1995
18Gopala Ramanujam18 June 199530 January 1997
19K. V. Raghunatha Reddy31 January 199712 February 1997
(18)Gopala Ramanujam13 February 199713 December 1997
(19)K. V. Raghunatha Reddy13 December 199727 April 1998
20C. Rangarajan27 April 199814 November 1999
21M. M. Rajendran15 November 199917 November 2004
22Rameshwar Thakur18 November 200421 August 2007
23Murlidhar Chandrakant Bhandare21 August 20079 March 2013
24S.C. Jamir21 March 201320 March 2018
Satya Pal Malik (additional charge)21 March 201828 May 2018
25Prof. Ganeshi Lal29 May 201830 October 2023
26Raghubar Das31 October 2023Incumbent

The List of governors of Odisha is a valuable resource for anyone interested in the history and politics of Odisha. It provides a concise and informative overview of the individuals who have served as the state’s heads of state.

List of Governors of Odisha
List of Governors of Odisha

Check Out More Odisha GK.

Leave a Comment

English to Odia Translator Join Photo and Signature Scientific Calculator Age Calculator Age Relaxation Syllabus Career As A Learn Mathematics Odia Grammar Basic Computer Knowledge General Knowledge Free Mock Test Scheme Departments of Odisha Govt Articles Post A Free Job